- Advertisement-

First-Ever NWFL Premiership Crown for Edo Queens

By winning the inaugural Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Premiership, Edo Queens created history.

- Advertisement-

On Sunday, match day five of the 2023/2024 Super Six, the Benin City-based team defeated Bayelsa Queens 1-1 at the Samson Siasia Stadium in Yenagoa, the capital of Bayelsa State. The title was decided in a dramatic final duel.

The team led by Moses Aduku still finished first, even though they needed a win to guarantee their spot regardless of their previous performances.

Additionally, they had to keep an eye on the Nembe match that had title implications: the Rivers Angels, seven-time winners, and the Heartland Queens, debutants of the Super Six.

- Advertisement-

In the sixth minute, the Bayelsa Queens came close to taking the lead when Mercy Omokwo squandered a golden opportunity after mishandling a cross from Mary Anjor.

This blunder cost Edo Queens as they scored an acrobatic goal from inside the six-yard box in the 29th minute, capitalizing on a corner kick.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *